Taste and see …

The end – and some changes February 12, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — F. Penner @ 8:36 PM

I’m officially done with the Whole30 and the reintroduction today. Actually, I think I was mentally done last week at some point, but wouldn’t admit it. I’ve finished off the remaining Biscoff spread (seriously – so good!), had some brownies, had some tortilla chips and sour cream with my chili (I forgot to buy cheese, though – go figure!), and probably a few other things I’ve forgotten about. Since nothing bothers me to the point of feeling ill, I’ve just decided simply minimize how much I eat of the things that make me feel less good. And so my Whole30 is done, and I’m moving on with my life. I have a feeling I’ll end up doing another one sometime in the summer, but for now I’m going to shop and eat more consciously, and I’m not going to feel guilty for having pasta or ice cream occasionally. On the plus side, I have found that I actually like Brussels sprouts. My mom will be so proud …

So I’ve been thinking about broadening the scope of this blog a little. I went to a simulcast of the IF:Gathering this past weekend and it was pretty awesome. It got me thinking about a few things, one of which was my blog. I started it as a food blog because I like food – making it, eating it, sharing it – and I don’t think that part of it will go away … But I chose the name from Psalm 34:8 – ‘Oh taste and see that the LORD is good; blessed is the man who trusts in Him!’ – because I like the double meaning, and even back then I kind of had the idea that at some point maybe I’d branch out. And then back at the beginning of January, after I’d resurrected this blog for the Whole30, it crossed my mind again that I could do more with it, but I don’t necessarily think that highly of my thoughts, so I ignored that. And I also feel a little pretentious or something saying, ‘I have a blog’ – as though it’s actually really good. I mean, I suppose it’s not bad per se, but basically any given post is just me rambling. Not exactly quality writing … ๐Ÿ˜›

Anyhow – the main point of this year’s IF:Gathering was stepping out in faith – even when it seems crazy, which this does (at least to me). The ‘take-aways’ that I, well, took away were that we don’t need to have full confidence in ourselves, just in God, and to ‘be strong and very courageous’ (Joshua 1). I’ve never really had much of a desire to write and to put my thoughts out there for anyone to read, so this idea of writing posts that are maybe a little more personal is a tad scary for me. I really can’t explain the ‘why’ of this beyond that I simply think God wants me to do this. (I know there are probably people who just read that sentence and went, ‘huh???’ That’s okay … ๐Ÿ™‚ ) I have no idea what I’ll write about – I don’t really have an agenda or specific plans for this blog, and I never did. I actually kind of figured that once I was done with the Whole30, I’d just let it go for another 4 years or so. I guess that might still happen … But I want to widen the scope of my little blog and maybe occasionally write about things that matter to me a little more. Or something.

I’ve rewritten all of this multiple times, trying to pare it down to something readable and not convoluted. I’m still not sure my words make complete sense, but hopefully the gist of what I’m trying to say at least got through. And because I once again have a song stuck in my head that’s not at all related to anything aside from the title of this post, I’m going to share …

 

Leave a Reply

