Taste and see …

Oops! February 6, 2015

Filed under: Whole30 — F. Penner @ 12:59 PM
Tags:

I’m not yet officially done with the Whole30 reintroduction, but I kind of fell off the wagon just a tad the other night. By the time Thursdays hit, I’m usually tired of whatever meals I cooked earlier in the week. Normally I’ll just have eggs or pasta – something quick and simple – but I’m rather tired of eggs, and technically I’m not supposed to be eating pasta on a regular basis until I’m done reintroducing everything. Granted, gluten didn’t seem to cause any major problems, and neither did dairy – but still! I feel like I did pretty well for the 30 days, and I wanted to try and keep up the good work through the final 12 days and see if anything actually bothers me. Anyhow, so I had some approved meatballs & spaghetti squash, but with cheese (because it’s just better with cheese), a blueberry muffin, and then I realized that I had some cookie butter cookies in my freezer left over from the 2nd baby shower, so I thawed those out and had them. And then … I realized I still had some cookie butter in my cabinet, so I grabbed a spoon … It was soo! good, but I kind of felt a little crappy for the rest of the night – mostly mentally. But I would just like to say – if you’ve never had cookie butter/Biscoff spread – you should head to Trader Joe’s (cookie butter) or a grocery store (Biscoff) and get yourself a jar. It’s wicked good – all you need is a spoon and some self-control. I intentionally try to avoid buying cookie butter because I’m clearly lacking in the self-control area when it comes to that, at least. Possibly other things, but I’m not about to confess all my sins to the world :D. Although, in full non-Whole30-approved disclosure, I also had some Cincinnati chili provided by one of my co-workers for lunch today. It was worth every non-compliant bite! (and one of these days I’ll be able to stop thinking in Whole30 terms …).

But the reintroduction … I’ve had pizza, pasta, cheese, yogurt, ice cream, cookies, a sandwich (I think the sandwich was actually my favorite, followed by the yogurt) … Nothing seems to bother me to the point where I can’t deal. Mainly I think I just have less energy eating all this stuff. I know – I’ve been brainwashed by the Whole30 people into thinking that gluten and dairy are bad for me, etc., etc., etc. Not entirely … I’ve actually gotten enough sleep for a couple nights in a row (!!) but I still kind of feel like I could take a nap. Maybe it’s the glacial temperature in our staff room at work – isn’t there something about extreme cold that ultimately makes you sleepy? – but yeah … Nothing has bothered me so much that I want to cut it out of my diet completely, but I will probably reexamine my cooking and menu planning and try to keep more veggies & fruit in there for snacks and stuff.

I want to leave you all with this lovely music video because the song got stuck in my head and I wanted to share ❤

 

Leave a Reply

