Taste and see …

Week 3/Day 20 January 21, 2015

Filed under: Whole30 — F. Penner @ 10:00 PM
Tags:

So I’m kind of over my self-imposed deprivation of cheese and milk and bread – but I’m two-thirds of the way done (today is day 20!) so I’m not quitting now!! Plus I’m actually enjoying spending time in my kitchen again. Not that I wasn’t cooking before starting this, but I was cooking because I had to, not because I wanted to. Now I obviously still have to, but I really am enjoying finding new recipes and trying them out. I’ve been spending way too much time on Pinterest trying to find compliant recipes that sound good, most of which I probably won’t make.

I made plantain tostados with chicken this week … I burnt the plantain tostados (or is it ‘tostadas’?) a little 😦 but otherwise they’re pretty good. They are kind of labor intensive, though. You have to make the marinade for the chicken, then move on to the tostados. Somehow you’re supposed to have enough space in your oven to bake both the chicken and the tostados simultaneously (I didn’t …), and while they’re baking (and potentially burning) then you get to work on the ranchero sauce and guacamole. I need to make them again without burning anything, and possibly with chicken breasts instead of thighs.

I also decided to make something a little more familiar – meatloaf and mashed potatoes. The meatloaf is really good, and I would probably make it again as a regular meal, although every now and then the crunchiness from the almonds that didn’t get pulverized enough throws me off. The mashed potatoes are okay, but they’re a little dry and I wish I had added in some coconut milk. I thought about it when I was mixing the ghee in, but I wanted to try the recipe as-is. At least I know for next time.

For breakfast this week, I decided to try a frittata with sausage, onion, red pepper, purple potatoes, and coconut milk. I was more than a little worried I wouldn’t like it without cheese in it, but it was actually pretty good. And I know the creators of the Whole30 would probably file these sweet potato apple muffins under their ‘SWYPO’ category (sex with your pants on), but I’ve been feeling a little overloaded by all the protein I’ve been eating for breakfast, so I thought I’d give them a try as a second breakfast option. I only had salted almond butter on hand, and didn’t really think about the fact that I wasn’t adding any kind of sugar to balance out the salt in the recipe and the salt in the almond butter. Consequently, they turned out just a tad salty! But! I had a bunch of apples I wasn’t doing anything specific with, so naturally I decided that making some unsweetened apple butter to go with the salty muffins was in order. 😛 It made them taste much better! Aside from the saltiness, the muffins are pretty good. They’re a lot lighter than I was expecting – I assumed that with the sweet potato and almond butter they’d be kind of dense, but they’re very spongy. I may just try making them again next week (albeit with unsalted almond butter) – I’ve got a bunch of apple butter to use up, after all!

And I made it through the baby shower last weekend by bringing my own dressing/dip for veggies and a few snacks. Once I got my little plate of fruit & veggies, I kind of parked myself on a seat in another room, and tried to ignore the sandwiches and desserts everyone else was eating. It seemed to work … The next baby shower (this coming weekend) will be a little rougher, since I’m co-throwing it and will be baking cookies to bring – but I’m unable to taste-test!! So sad … I guess I should start praying now for the cookies to turn out well. I will be freezing some to taste-test after my Whole30 is done. It’s never too late for quality control, right?

 

Leave a Reply

