Taste and see …

1 down, 3 to go January 10, 2015

Filed under: Whole30 — F. Penner @ 10:35 PM
Tags:

Well, I’ve made it through the first week, and am now at the end of day 9. It hasn’t been as hard as I thought it would be, although that’s not to say it hasn’t been hard. There were cookies & doughnuts & homemade egg rolls at work (the last from a patron), none of which I could have, of course. And while I have a bunch of Whole30-compliant food at home, of course I didn’t want to eat that. I didn’t completely empty out my kitchen of non-compliant food before starting because items like pasta and rice are good for a long time, so I’ve still got quite a bit of pasta and some Parmesan cheese in my fridge (since that also lasts a while). I really wanted to pull some tomato sauce out of my freezer and make some simple spaghetti in the middle of the week. No, I didn’t cheat, but it was definitely tempting! Hopefully the recipes I’m making this week will be better, and I won’t be tired of them after a couple of days! I’m having a hard time coming up with familiar recipes that I can tweak to be Whole30-compliant (or that I want to tweak to be compliant – I still want to put cheese on/in many things). Plus I also like making new recipes. I have some meals that I’ll make somewhat frequently (such as spaghetti 🙂 ) but generally I end up making quite a few new recipes throughout the year.

I’m looking forward to week 2. I know I’m really already part of the way through my second week, but since my Whole30 is ending on a Saturday, it’s easier for me to think of this coming week as my second week. I’ll have my first real challenge at the end of this week, though – I’m going to a baby shower on Saturday. And I’m sure there will be all kinds of delicious, non-compliant food! Once again, life is so hard! Hahaha I did make the conscious choice to do a Whole30, however, and I’m definitely curious to see how it all turns out.

 

Leave a Reply

