Taste and see …

Day 4 and counting January 5, 2015

Filed under: Whole30 — F. Penner @ 11:04 PM
Tags:

I kind of feel as though I should be done with my first full week, and I’m only 4 days in! And I spent most of the weekend craving carbs and dairy – a bagel with cream cheese, cereal, pasta… I suppose it didn’t help that I was serving in our cafe at church on Sunday, making bagels for everyone else! šŸ™‚ I’m kind of bored already by 2 of the meals I made for the week, though. I made almond-crusted chicken breasts with roasted potatoes and cauliflower for dinner tonight, so I’m not tired of that yet, but I’m tired of the spaghetti squash casserole and the potato-leek soup. Normally when I get tired of my leftovers, I have breakfast for dinner. Except that now I’m eating eggs for breakfast, so I don’t really want to have them for dinner as well. Life is so hard…

Since I snack so much at work, I decided to try a couple more snacky recipes – apple chips

IMG_2396

and cashew hummus.

IMG_2397

Both are awesome!! I should have put more coconut milk in the hummus, as it’s a little thick, but it tastes like regular hummus. I may have to start making my own hummus (with chickpeas) when this is all done instead of buying it at Trader Joe’s. And the apple chips may become a regular snack… I just need to be more careful when I’m slicing the apples as I also sliced my thumb on my mandoline, and now it’s awkward to do pretty much everything. Oops!!…

All in all, I’m feeling okay with this so far. I’m really looking forward to bagels & pizza in February, but I’m having fun making some new things (like the hummus). Being a bit of a planner, I’ve already made a rough menu for the rest of the month, and am looking forward to trying more new recipes. And having realized how much I do rely on carbs to fill me up, maybe by the end of the month I’ll be less inclined to go back to that. I’ve also kind of had to throw my normal food budget out the window, since meat & produce add up quickly when you’re not allowed to have rice or pasta or beans. However, Linvilla Orchards is 10 minutes away from me, and they have half-off produce during the winter. I’m not sure if that extends to fruit as well, but even if it’s only applicable to veggies, it’s still worth a trip.

 

Leave a Reply

