Taste and see …

Peanut-butter blondies with milk chocolate frosting June 30, 2010

Filed under: Cookies,Desserts — F. Penner @ 8:29 PM
Tags: ,

I think just about everyone I know likes the combination of peanut butter and chocolate – in almost any form.  I decided to make these as a thank-you to one of my friends for filling in for me in our church nursery.  (She’s not a regular nursery worker, so don’t anyone start getting the idea that if you switch nursery days with me, you’ll get something yummy.  Not gonna happen.)  And coincidentally, another friend also happened to be having a party the same weekend, so I brought the remaining blondies to his place.  I love it when I bake, and I don’t have to figure out who else is going to eat it besides me!!  And then, while at this party, one of the guests came up and told me he needed to have the recipe because they were apparently that awesome.  So make this recipe.  The blondies are a bit dense and rich, but seriously – they’re wicked good!!  There were none left over (except for the few corners I had kept at home for myself just in case – thank goodness I did!)  Oh – and the frosting is amazing – I’d totally use it on a cake at some future point.

Peanut butter blondies with milk chocolate frosting

  • 10 Tbsp. unsalted butter, cut into pieces
  • 2 cups dark brown sugar
  • 1 cup smooth, natural peanut butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.  Grease a 9×13-inch pan, line with parchment paper if you have it on hand, then grease the parchment paper.  If you don’t have parchment paper, these blondies will be just fine.  *I used parchment paper because I had it – but I think it was probably unnecessary.

In a medium saucepan over medium heat, melt butter and sugar together until the butter is just melted.  Remove from the burner and allow to cool for 5 minutes, then add the peanut butter.  Stir until incorporated.  Allow to cool for 5 minutes more, then whisk in the eggs and vanilla extract.  You want the sugar, butter and peanut butter mixture to be cool enough that the eggs won’t begin to cook when they’re added in.

Whisk together salt, flour and baking powder.  Add dry ingredients all at once to the wet ingredients.  Stir until just incorporated.  Pour the thick batter into the prepared pan and smooth out.  Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until a skewer inserted in the center of the blondies comes out clean.  Remove from the oven and allow to cool to room temperature before frosting.

Milk chocolate frosting

  • 6 Tbsp. unsalted butter, softened
  • 3 Tbsp. unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 1/2 to 2 cups powdered sugar
  • 3 Tbsp. milk
  • 3/4 cup milk chocolate chips, melted

In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat together the butter, cocoa powder and salt.  Add 1/2 cup powdered sugar followed by 1 tablespoon milk.  Beat well.  Add another cup of powdered sugar, followed by 2 tablespoons of milk.  Melt milk chocolate chips in the microwave or in a double boiler.  Add melted and slightly cooked milk chocolate the frosting and beat to incorporate.  Add the final 1/2 cup of powdered sugar if you need a bit more thickness.  Spread evenly over peanut butter blondies.  *I don’t own a stand mixer, so I just used my hand mixer – it still turned out fine.  And I added the full 2 cups of powdered sugar.  I also melted my chocolate chips (Hershey’s milk chocolate chips, which do not taste like a Hershey kiss – I recommend them over Nestle’s milk chocolate chips) over a double boiler because I have a tendency to make the chocolate seize when I melt it in the microwave.  I know it’s fixable, but I prefer to just avoid that whole scenario.

 

Leave a Reply

