Taste and see …

Chicken and cherries April 30, 2010

Filed under: Dinner — F. Penner @ 8:43 PM
Tags: , ,

I decided to branch out a bit from my usual tastes this week, and make a recipe I saw in a Rachael Ray magazine – Chicken and dried cherries, served over couscous.  I’ve made couscous before and liked it, but it was the flavored kind (like olive oil and garlic or parmesan – yum!).  And the recipe calls for curry powder, which I’ve had, but haven’t used it in my cooking.  And the cherries… well, I like dried cherries.  I like them in my granola bars, in my cookies, etc.  They’re different.  So I thought that a non-sweet recipe with dried cherries would be interesting.  I was right – it was interesting – in a good way 🙂

Chicken and dried cherries

  • One 10-oz. box couscous
  • 2 Tbsp. flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp. curry powder
  • 3/4 lbs. boneless skinless chicken thighs, cut into cubes
  • 1 Tbsp. plus 1 tsp. extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 small onion, thinly sliced
  • 2 ribs celery, sliced, plus chopped leaves for garnish
  • 1/4 cup chopped dried cherries
  • 1/3 cup evaporated milk

Prepare the couscous according to the package.  Meanwhile, in a bowl, combine the flour, curry powder, and 1/2 tsp. salt.  Add the chicken and toss to coat.

In a large non-stick skillet, heat 1 Tbsp. olive oil over medium-high heat.  Add the chicken and cook, turning once, until browned and just cooked through, about 5 minutes.  Transfer the chicken to a plate.

Add the remaining 1 tsp. olive oil to the skillet and heat over medium-high heat.  Add the onion and celery and cook, stirring, for 3 minutes.  Add the cherries and 1/2 cup water and bring to a boil.  Stir in the evaporated milk and chicken along with any juices; season with salt.  Serve over the couscous and top with the celery leaves.

I realized as I was typing out the ingredients list that I used boneless skinless chicken breast instead of thigh… oops!  I really should read all the way through a recipe before making it…  I thought it tasted just fine, although I guess next time I’d probably try it with the thigh meat just to see what it’s supposed to taste like!

 

Leave a Reply

