Taste and see …

Cauliflower, potato, and cheese soup March 30, 2010

Filed under: Dinner,Soup — F. Penner @ 6:42 PM
Tags: , ,

I try to plan my menus around what the weather’s going to be for the week – more so in cooler weather, probably because I tend to want comfort food more when it’s grey and gloomy, or just cold.  It was cold and rainy (again!) for several days, so I decided to try a new recipe from the book, New England Soup Factory Cookbook, by Marjorie Druker and Clara Silverstein.  It came through the office at some point, and I thoroughly enjoyed looking through it, so I bought it.  The majority of the recipes make a huge amount and since I’m only one person (and I don’t think I own a pot that’s large enough their full recipes) I haven’t made any of them ’til now.  I halved the ingredients for this recipe, and it still made a ton!  I posted my halved recipe, so if you want to make the full batch, just double everything! 🙂

Cauliflower, potato, and cheese soup

adapted from New England Soup Factory Cookbook

  • 1 Tb. salted butter
  • 1 whole clove garlic, peeled
  • 1 1/2 cups diced onions
  • 1/2 cup diced celery
  • 1 head cauliflower, separated into florets
  • 1 1/2 Yukon Gold potatoes, peeled and cut into chunks (*I just used 2 – I’m not sure what I’d do with half of a potato… but the orig. recipe calls for 3)
  • 5 cups chicken stock
  • 2 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese
  • 1 cup light cream
  • 1/2 tsp. ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp. dry mustard
  • 1 1/2 tsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • 3 dashes Tabasco sauce
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

In a stockpot melt the butter over medium-high heat.  Add the garlic, onions, celery, cauliflower florets, and potatoes.  Sauté for 10 minutes.  Add enough stock to cover the vegetables and bring to a boil.  Reduce the heat to medium and simmer until the potatoes are tender, 30-35 minutes.  Remove from the heat.  Add the cheese, cream, nutmeg, mustard, Worcestershire sauce, Tabasco sauce, salt, and pepper.  Puree the soup in the pot using a hand blender or working in batches with a regular blender until smooth.

Of course, I goofed a bit when making this.  I forgot to get celery at the store, so that’s not in my soup.  But it still tasted fine!  And I also didn’t think until I was eating the soup that it would be good with a nice piece of bread – something soft and chewy inside, but crusty.  Next time ’round…

Since the halved recipe still made way more than I want to eat in the course of a week, I froze a little to test it and see how it thawed.  It seemed all right, although I know generally cheese soups shouldn’t be frozen… I have seen some sites that say you can, you just have to gradually bring the temperature of the soup down (room temp. to fridge to freezer) and then do the same when reheating it.  I guess I’ll find out if that works when I reheat the batch that’s in my freezer!!

 

2 Responses to “Cauliflower, potato, and cheese soup”

  1. Shannon Says:

    This is one of my favorite types of soup. It doesn’t even have to be pureed. For some reason soup with chunks of things seems like more of a meal. It’s deceptive. I’m definately trying this recipe. I just got a new crock-pot, and I’ve been experimenting with crock-pot pizza…with little success thus far.


Leave a Reply

